Contact Info

Portland Cement Association announces winners of 2023 Safety Innovation and Chairman's Safety Performance Awards

US: The Portland Cement Association (PCA) has announced the winners of its 2023 Safety Innovation and Chairman’s Safety Performance Awards.

The Safety Innovation Award Program recognises companies that have developed innovative practices, projects and programs that improve safety at cement plants in the US. Entries are judged in five areas: innovation, ease of use and ease of construction, effectiveness and risk prevention. The recipients were:

  • Distribution: Continental Cement, Continental Port Allen Terminal, Chesterfield, Missouri
  • Quarry: CalPortland Company, CalPortland Oro Grande Plant, Oro Grande, California
  • Pyroprocessing: GCC of America, GCC Tijeras Plant, Tijeras, New Mexio
  • General Facility: Mitsubishi Cement Corporation, Mitsubishi Cushenbury Plant, Lucerne Valley, California

The Chairman’s Safety Performance Awards are given to member cement plants that did not have a reportable injury or illness during the year. Fifteen plants achieved this in 2023, which represented more than 10% of all active cement facilities in the US and its territories. The recipients were:

  • Argos USA, Atlanta, Georgia
  • Argos USA, Newberry, Florida
  • Argos Puerto Rico Corp, Dorado, Puerto Rico
  • Ash Grove Cement Company (CRH), Durkee, Oregon
  • Ash Grove Cement Company (CRH), Midlothian, Texas
  • Buzzi Unicem USA, Chattanooga, Tennessee
  • Buzzi Unicem USA, Maryneal, Texas
  • CalPortland Company, Rillito, Arizona
  • GCC of America, Odessa, Texas
  • Heidelberg Materials, Bellingham, Washington
  • Martin Marietta Materials, New Braunfels, Texas
  • Martin Marietta Materials, Midlothian, Texas
  • Martin Marietta Materials, Tehachapi, California
  • National Cement Company of California, Kern, California
  • St Marys Cement (Votorantim), Detroit, Michigan


Leave a Reply